Iowa's 2019
Matthew Shepard
Awards Dinner

Friday, June 7, 2019
Community Choice Credit Union Convention Center

Join us for the 20th presentation of Iowa's Matthew Shepard Scholarships. Scholarships are awarded to outstanding LGBTQ Iowa high school seniors in the name of Matthew Shepard, a college student killed in an anti-gay hate crime in Wyoming in 1998.


  • Judy and Dennis Shepard

    Parents of Matthew Shepard
In October 1998, Judy and Dennis Shepard lost their 21 year-old son, Matthew, to a murder motivated by anti-gay hate. Matthew’s death moved many thousands of people around the world to attend vigils and rallies in his memory. Determined to prevent others from suffering their son’s fate, Judy and Dennis decided to turn their grief into action and established the Matthew Shepard Foundation to carry on Matthew’s legacy. The Foundation is dedicated to working toward the causes championed by Matthew during his life: social justice, diversity awareness & education, and equality for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people.
Eychaner Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients
  • Janet and Mark Rosenbury

    Community Leaders
Janet Snider and Mark Rosenbury met in 1966 at Manchester College in Indiana and celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary in 2017. Living in Sioux City in the early 1990’s they began advocating for LGBTQ people to have full membership rights at their church as well as equal civil rights. They were inspired in Sioux City through programs featuring Judy Shepard, Brad Clark, Rich Eychaner and Jonathon Wilson. Since moving to the Des Moines metro in 2006 they have served on the boards of ACLU of IA, One Iowa and the Iowa Legal Aid Foundation, the Matthew Shepard Scholarship Committee and have been involved in Plymouth Church’s peace and justice activities. Since 2011, they have sponsored Matthew Shepard scholarships honoring Lieutenant Governors Joy Corning and Sally Pedersen for their support of LGBTQ people.


Become a

Support Scholarships for Iowa LGBTQ Students.

Copyright © 2006 - 2019  Eychaner Foundation.